My 2.2

I am suddenly very proud over the fact that I got a 2.2 instead of a 2.1 or a first. Few hours before my graduation and I am not yet asleep. Still, I feel like writing this down.

Yes, I am proud that I got a 2.2. I had my taste of getting firsts and failures; and with Trust, even though I failed the damn module, I know in my heart that I did my best (and I would freak the hell out if I have to resit it. Thank goodness I did not have to). I admit I screwed up with Land, but that’s a complicated story which I myself am confused about.

Today I realize that I could survive in the real world if suddenly everything changed; my mom disowning me or whatever. I realize I can do almost anything; I’m Jack of all trades. And to be honest, I don’t mind being master of none at the moment. After all, I’m only 21. Still long way to go for me to find my niche. No rush.

I don’t have to be able to rely on my only ability of making money, like what I see most of the people who got first and 2.1s would have to do. To be honest, I don’t think I have that ability; I only have the ability to conserve money.

I’m not dissing you guys. Oh, of course it is an amazing feat, getting firsts and 2.1s, and I admire you for that.

However… some of you disappoint me to no end with your ignorance. Makes me wonder how you got your amazing results.

Nevertheless, I would always remember what my personal tutor said; he got a 2.2 for his administrative law paper and yet he has written a book on Judicial Review.

I suppose examination results don’t really translate to having many skills to get by…

On a bimbotic note; I straightened my hair!! On my own 😉 I do not have to go to a stylist to do it. Burnt my fingers a bit, but it’s worth it. Now it is straight as if I never curled them. Used the hair dryer like hell. I fried my hair. I’m changing my hair style this time next week already. Ahhh… I miss Malaysia already!!

I’m excited for the graduation, regardless of the horrid robes!!

Okay I’m lying. I’m still horrified over the robes and how it’ll look like. Hopefully my light blue shirt would look nice. Vic would be wearing light blue too!! Yeay!! Got gang!! Hahahaha 😛

  1. Nic
    November 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    To be perfectly honest, anyone who comes out with a degree should be proud, regardless of the grade should be proud of themselves. I’m sick and tired of hearing about the “inferior” 2:2 or the “waste of time” third.

    My sister got a 2:2 in a subject that’s often oh-so-charmingly referred to as a “Mickey Mouse” degree. Yet it was that inferior grade in a Mickey Mouse subject than got her a job she loves. And she’s definitely using that Mickey Mouse degree of hers. (There was a certain vicious triumph in the fact that many of the people who got Firsts – the same people who looked down on my sister – have struggled to find any kind employment at all, let alone graduate jobs that actually put the degree to use.)

    But that aside, and on quite a simplistic note, I actually think the grade is one of the least important things. All that is is someone else’s opinion of your mastery of the subject. And however much your markers would like to believe they’re completely objective, they’re not. Not that it’s their fault, no human is completely objective.

    What’s really important is what your degree has taught you. Even if you fail to get a grade, even if you drop out after the first year, you’ll come away with more knowledge than you started with.

    That’s the way I see it anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

