Silver heels

I love them. It’s a pair of pumps, very pointy. Very unlike all my shoes. I never got pointy shoes before as my feet are quite wide. I am not a proud owner of long narrow feet, but my feet are better than my mom’s. Haha.

I don’t know what made me try this pair. Maybe it’s because it was in the 50% stash, so I thought, why the hell not eh? I’ve less money to lose, and considering that I’ve bought a pair of open-toed patent heels… This seemed tame.

So I asked for my size. My feet was swollen due to the amount of walking and shoe cramming they have gone through the whole day, so I was surprised that my feet could slip into it without any glitches.

And it’s comfortable!!

To hell with all my mom’s silly theories about what kind of shoes I should wear. I have brought down every single myth that she has told me. I can’t wear thongs (not the underwear. They’re bloody uncomfortable, in my opinion. Seriously, you might as well don’t wear anything!!) because it will make my feet look too wide, heels will hurt your feet, strappies are painful, blablabla. Maybe my pain endurance is high in my feet as compared to my head; who knows.

Nonetheless, from now on, I will buy whatever design of shoes I damn well please.

And since hopefully I would have a source of income to pay for my addiction…

It is a cheap addiction. Or at least, in my case. Well, it is much cheaper than Carrie Bradshaw’s… or Faliq Ismail’s. Hahaha.

I much prefer buying the cheaper shoes. Oh, not in England though. In England, the cheap shoes are so blah. I wouldn’t be caught dead with shoes from Primark, H&M, new look and what nots. Actually I don’t quite like shoes in England; I drag mine from Malaysia. And I threw all of them away before I came back. How very unenvironmentally friendly of me. Hahaha.

That’s my modus operandi when it comes to shoes though. When I’m bored of them, I throw them away without any second thoughts. A luxury that comes with buying shoes that cost less than 10 quid.

I have never paid for more than RM50 for a pair of shoes, apart from the leather shoes my mom insisted I get from Clarks when she was in England. Ah well. They’re comfortable, so fine.

A plus in buying such cheap shoes is that I know that most of the material would definitely be man-made materials. So lessen the likelihood of my shoes having pig skin. Main reason why I don’t bother buying shoes in England.

Come to think of it, I did buy shoes in England. My sneakers, a pair of tennis shoes which are heavily embroidered that cost me 15 quid, and 2 pairs of flats that I got during Boxing Day sales which cost me 7 quid each. All in all, I paid max 17 quid each.

Not more than that, apart from the leather shoes my mom insisted I get.

So that’s not so bad eh?

Still, I much prefer buying shoes in Malaysia. Like I said, I have never paid more than RM50 for a pair of shoes. Okay, that’s after the inflation, so probably soon, after the sale, I would be willing to pay max RM70 for a pair of shoes. Though that’s also unlikely. Oh, I don’t know. We’ll see. I think just RM60. And as I use HSBC credit card, I’ll get a 10% off for normal prices item. Great, isn’t it? And I get points on my PADINI card and on the credit card. Awesome!!

Bleh, I’m too lazy to brush up the “posts” I typed when I was away without internet connection.

It’s good to be back on the West Coast. I am such a snob, I know that now. I freely admit it.

Can’t believe I do prefer the East Midlands than any part of the West in England. Or maybe because Wales is on the South West Coast of Britain… and me no quite like Wales. This coming from someone who has only been to Cardiff. Hahaha.

See, I really am a snob.

Though I hate London. Bleurgh. I do. London is just for holidays.

Edinburgh, on the other hand…

I should stop. Haha.

However, it does seem that it is true that I prefer the East side of England than the west. I like York; I didn’t like Manchester… Though Lake District was nice and it was on the West Coast. Hmmm… I really didn’t travel much when I was in England, didn’t I? Ahhh… regrets. I thought I would still be in the UK this coming fall!! Just, not in Britain. Still… ooohhh!! Belfast is on the East Coast as well!! Hahahaha. Though I could have become bi-coastal if I applied for the Cross Border programme, which would “force” me to go to NUI Galway on the West Coast. When people ask why didn’t I apply for it for the heck of it, I said because the modules were “too Irish”, to which some friends ask “what do you expect? It be too Malaysian? You’ll be in Ireland after all.” Cis, why do I have such “smart” friends? Sigh… Still, it was more of the health system in Ireland–and the inflation–that made me decide against it. I mean, I would need to be in Galway in the Spring-Summer term!! Hay fever season in a country where the drugs are expensive??? Blek, no thanks. I would still prefer sending drugs to my dear friends in Ireland instead of joining them. Worse, I don’t know who in the UK who has the same illness.

Still, in Britain, I prefer the east. In Peninsular… Or just generally in Malaysia, I want to be as west as I could get. I can’t survive even in the capital of Sarawak, after having lived near the capital of Malaysia almost all my life… Cocky cocky me.

I do love East Coast of Peninsular though. For holidays. Absolutely beautiful. I want to go to Kuala Terengganu on my own. Gotta check how much Enrich points do I have; if I could get a free ticket to go there… Hmmmm…

Some thoughts about the wedding:

  • My cousin just had to pick a girl from the north of Terengganu. I mean, it took us like 8 hours to drive there from Temerloh. Seriously man.
  • His elder brother’s wife’s village is only 10 minutes away from his bride’s. Seriously, is Jerteh the only place to get suitable Malay wives for my cousins? It looks as if they planned it all!! We’ll see where the youngest boy gets his bride…
  • I am not feminist enough, though there were moments where I thought, man, some of my feminist tutors would be soooo proud of me, especially the one Faliq credits as the crimes in Brown‘s mastermind.
  • My family prefers not to follow the Hindu-influenced Malay tradition of bersanding. However, they still try to conform to the requirement of giving eggs to some guests, but just to less than 80 people. They got 90 eggs but I broke almost 10 of them while boiling it. Hehe.
  • It is weird for all of us to see our tough cousin/brother to go all soft on his wedding day. Actually, it was a shock for me to even hear that he had a girlfriend initially. And then the break-up. And the finding of a replacement and after such a short period of time, the wedding. Though, when I think about it… He broke up with his first girlfriend before I left for England… And now I’ve finished only he got married. Not that fast; just short period for me, I suppose. Still, it is no less shocking that this tough guy has fallen. Haha. Still, this tough guy has a soft side; he’s always the one making sure everyone–especially our grandmother, who has a small appetite–have eaten their meals and amusing us, the younger cousins. When we were younger anyway. Hahaha. Now he can’t be bothered about us; he has moved on to his nieces, soon children.
  • I forgot to get this couple my usual wedding gift; condoms. Seriously, since I turned 17, I gave all my cousins who got married–even the one who got married when I was in England, who got NHS-sponsored ones–contraceptives. I am a big believer of family planning. I would get them the Pill if it wouldn’t appear in my medical records. Still, condoms were much easier. And somehow more embarrassing for them, which tickles me. It is rare that a form 4 Biology teacher shows her class condoms. A very memorable class. Haha.
  1. Azizan
    September 16, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I have a fetish for shoes too and jut can’t stay put with one single design. Moms can never know what’s cool. I have been using my Citibank credit card for all my purchases in Malaysia and the savings has given me enough reason to buy an extra pair. You can check their site too http://www.citibank.com.my/portal/citimy_home.htm. Would love it if comeone came up with disposable environmental friendly shoes, one need not agonise over throwing aways shoes used only a few months. Would be cool.

  1. September 6, 2008 at 5:51 am

Leave a Reply

