Home > Narcissistic, Silliness > Great Irish Famine

Great Irish Famine

September 21, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

For the life of me, I can’t remember exactly how the conversation started. I’m thinking it might be somewhere along when I was saying I want to study in Galway then switching to the constitutional rights of babies born on Ireland (i.e. including Northern Ireland, UK) to Irish citizenship (i.e. Republic of Ireland citizenship) and how people die slower than babies are born in Ireland.

To be honest, I was quite surprised, at first, till I remember I had my friend in Ireland going to a pharmacy to check if they sold condoms there.

To which he responded, “Nani, Ireland might be a Catholic country but they do accept that there are people from other religion that might allow contraception!!”

Hehehe. Sorry la!!

Still, when we had the seminar on Northern Irish abortion law, I wondered again. After all, my friend didn’t actually provide proof. Picture or whatever.

So when I went to Dublin, I just had to check it for myself.

I couldn’t stop laughing while Fatin was weighing herself. Okay, I wasn’t laughing out loud for too long. I didn’t want to be admitted to the Irish equivalent of Tanjung Rambutan when I came from the town with the biggest teaching hospital in Europe.

Imagine my Law School receiving a letter stating that I’ve been detained under the Irish equivalent of Mental Capacity Act. And my personal tutor wondering why in the world did he get a crazy personal tutee. Must be why he decided to specialize in mental health law.

Haha.

Anyway, so… I think I was saying that surely they would have enough land in their tiny island to cope with the old population, what with the people dying during what I called “Great Potato Famine” since I remembered it was due to potatoes. I remember that “singer” saying the Catholic church hid potatoes in Father Ted!! See… you get to learn history while watching such a stupid show; not so stupid after all. I love watching Father Ted. Hahaha. So silly.

So… Beda was saying the Irish should diversify their crops. Including creating a new motto for them.

Majulah agriculture untuk negara.

Hahaha.

Just try imagining any Mat Saleh trying to say that?

Hahaha.

I remember the mushrooms that I buy from Sainsbury’s come from Ireland. They do tell where they get the fresh fruits and vegetables from.

So I suppose even before Beda came up with the motto, they have adopted it.

Cis, I still remember I didn’t buy Irish potatoes for Faliq when I was there.

Oh well.

I miss eating potatoes for 2 weeks straight.

A weird fact about my relationship with potatoes: I crave potatoes when I get my menses.

Weird eh?

Not chocolate, but potatoes.

Baked potatoes, roast potatoes, mash potatoes, fries/ chips, chips/ crisps, any kind of potatoes!!

Okay fine, I mean ubi kentang, not those other kind of ubis.

I don’t like sweet potatoes. Bleurgh.

I miss living in the land where people like to consume potatoes.

My mom used to say, when I was about 10, that if she put me in a competition to eat the most potato, me, a 10 year old Malaysian girl, competing with an American man, an English man and and Irish man, I would still win.

10 year old girl winning.

That’s how much I like potatoes.

Hahaha.

I hate rice. Bleurgh. Don’t like.

Categories: Narcissistic, Silliness Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

