Home > Ever ever after > Any books that you would recommend?

Any books that you would recommend?

October 13, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Edit: This used to be a sticky post; I just feel like putting it back where it belongs…

Warning: This is a sticky post, where it would always be on the first entry until I am satisfied with the responses. I do update my blog quite often; just scroll lower and you will see the typical me time of blabbing. Hahaha πŸ˜›

I do wonder how many would respond to this request, what with having so few repeat visitors.

Ignoring the fact that I now have a budget for my monthly spendings on books, I would like to know if there’s any books that any of you would recommend.

Maybe I’m bored with the choices I’ve made, I don’t know.

Nonetheless, I’m still reading them.

Just… Oh, I don’t know…

Oh well…

*edited on 30th Oct 2008 @ 4.15 GMT*:

Thank you, Sangee and Cycads for the recommendations. Would definitely look up for them πŸ˜‰

*edited on Feb 26th 2009 @ 17.01 GMT*

Tasha; I’m not a fan of Murakami. Norwegian Wood bothered me more than Breaking Dawn did. Hard for me to explain why; so I’m avoiding him. And Hornby’s High Fidelity is already on my list. Just can’t find a copy of it. Thanks for your recommendation nonetheless. πŸ˜€

Categories: Ever ever after
  1. sangee
    October 15, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    in no order of merit:

    1. life of pi- yann martel
    2. purple hibiscus- chimamanda ngozi adiche
    3. god of small things- arundhati roy
    4. blood of flowers- anita amirzavani (spelling?)

  2. cycads
    October 30, 2008 at 2:10 am

    1. Beauty by Sherry S. Tepper
    2. No Logo by Naomi Klein
    3. The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan
    4. Native Son by Richard Wright
    5. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

    Graphic novels (for ladies. Because they are generally so under-appreciated)
    1. Aya by Marguerite Abouet
    2. Gemma Bovery by Posy Simmonds
    3. Happy Mania (series, about 20 books) by Moyocco Anno
    4. Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi

  3. missmidori
    February 25, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity.

    Trust me. πŸ™‚

    And if you like Murakami, you might love Banana Yashimoto.

    Or just read everything written by Murakami!

    South of the Border is good. So is Sputnik Sweetheart. Loved Dance Dance Dance.

    Man, I’m such a big fan!

  4. April 22, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Just finished Seven Days in the Art World — check it out, great breezy read looking into today’s modern art scene

  5. mel
    April 22, 2009 at 1:59 am

    If you’re into thriller that sort, I’d recommend any Paul Auster’s or Jeffrey Archer’s. If not, The Remains of The Day by Kazuo Ishiguro and Colm Toibin’s The Master are good. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

