Home > Ramblings > LOL

LOL

October 13, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

During the sleepover, Tasha and I found out that Amni uses “LOL” when speaking as well.

Quite funny, really.

Somewhat started a discussion about LOLs.

Tasha said that before, she thought it meant lots of laughter.

Me, I just asked the first person who used it. I don’t think wikipedia existed then; if not I would have just wiki-ed it, as I usually do now.

Nonetheless, I did thought about what it could mean other than “laughing out loud”, as I didn’t think it made much sense.

I mean, you do use “hahaha” and “hehehe” and “hohoho” and whatever other variations of laughter, right?

Does it mean, when a person uses LOL, they are not laughing out loud when they type “hahaha”? Just, type it out out of politeness?

I don’t know about others, but usually when I type LOL, it’s because I am laughing so hard I can’t type that many “ha”s; it’s just faster to type lol and continue laughing.

Slowly, I thought, laughing out loud is a more suitable meaning of lol. And Tasha thought about it as well, even before we had this conversation.

And really, is it so hard to type “ha” repetitively?

Or is it just something you sarcastically type when you think someone is just trying to hard to make you laugh. Added with a cynical sneer?

Categories: Ramblings Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

