Home > Narcissistic > Make-do women

Make-do women

October 16, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I got an email from a friend… It’s about a woman advising another woman not to ever be a make-do woman.

Plenty of us women make do.

However, very few, or possibly none at all, men make do.

Maybe I should show you the email.

Here it is:

one of the most interesting “lessons” came from a woman I met for
the first time,
She said, “Honey, whatever you do,  DONT ever let yourself become a
make-do woman”
I had no idea what she meant, but, of course, she was about to explain.
She continued,

“men don’t deny themselves anything.
Whatever they want to buy, they buy.
Whatever they want to do, they do.
Meanwhile, there is the wife,
making do with her hair not being done,
her clothes from yesteryear,
her nails in need,
never had a pedicure,
scraping the bottom of her tube of lipstick!
Oh, I could go on and on with how we make do.”

And why? She continued,
“Because the car needs fixing, this bill is behind,
we have to use our time to take care of this,
or take care of that;
we’re saving for this, working, cooking, cleaning, raising, etc.”

She warned me to never become a make-do woman, because she says if you
start, it is hard to stop and one could easily find themselves making-do
for the rest of their lives.
I vowed it would never happen to me.

I didn’t think much more of the conversation until one day,
I began to take notice, she was right.

Men are a lot better at being good to themselves. Some call it being
selfish, there has to be another word for it. Tell me if you know.

Whatever you call it. It does have it’s place.

When they want to play ball, or golf, or fish, they go!
When they want to buy clothes, or equipment, or video games, or whatever
their thing is, they buy!
Have you ever tried to stop one?
Has anyone ever been able to stop one? Let me know!

When I look around, I see a whole heap of make-do women, married or not,
with or without children, they are all over the place!

I have decided that I am going to make my best effort to become a
“make-time” woman!
I will make the time to do what I need to do to be good to myself,
whether that’s a trip to the salon, or the gym or the mall.

This time I’m gonna take a lesson from the guys!

All right ladies, single and married…
Let’s NOT be “MAKE-DO” Women.
Let’s LOVE OURSELVES and ENCOURAGE each other!…..

I don’t know about you, but I don’t really consider doing the things the lady listed out as “making do”. It’s more of being practical and not wasting. Of course, I also hate shopping and try to buy in bulk as often as possible. I am the person who, if possible, only shop in August for her toiletries. Make-up? Hah!! Same time as well. I may look, but it is very rare that I buy.

Also, on why men don’t really make do?

Well… when it comes to buying things, men just generally want less things than women.

Though if you compare, say, me and Faliq, I am pretty positive he has more wants than I do. 😛

There are exceptions; of course there is.

However, if you look at things generally, you would agree that men just have less wants.

Also, men are more decisive compared to women. Just see how long it is that a man takes when it comes to shopping compared to women.

As for doing things they want to do… Well… Those doing the hair, putting on make up and having a pedicure… That takes time, right? Those extra time men have; they go fishing and play golf and what not.

You might understand why I am not a feminist… Or why feminists might hate me.

Hahaha.

Also possibly why I don’t agree with this article is that… I don’t make do. Hahaha. Once I’ve decided I want to do it and I wont regret it, I’ll do it.

However, before I have a firm decision, I “make do”, I guess?

Nonetheless, I am content with things!! 😀

Categories: Narcissistic
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

