Macs

February 26, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I feel like I’m collecting them, one way or another.

Well, maybe not really collecting… Since I don’t actually own them. I don’t own anything Apple, to be honest. Hahaha. Not yet anyway. Haha.

Well, if I do get an Apple product, likely it would only be a MacBook, but who knows if it would be downwards from there, eh? Hahaha.

Anyway, so being the big hypocrite that I am–or at least according to Amni anyway :P–I am back to wanting a 17 inch aluminium unibody enclosured MacBook Pro. Started wanting it back 2 hours after I started using iTunes again. Hahaha.

I can’t remember really when did I really want to use a MacBook. I know when I was watching Sex and the City movie, I already wanted it. As you might know, Ms Carrie Bradshaw uses a MacBook. Unlike what usually happens, when I see something advertised more, I refuse to start buying it. But with MacBooks… I don’t know. Must be because they’re so purdeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!

And then I went really crazy when I watched Twilight first time round.

Though I’m not sure when did I actuallt started looking at the direction of MacBooks in the first place.

Probably in the summer of my second year… When I needed to get a new laptop coz my previous one was getting wanky on me. My mother consulted a friend (who’s really nearer to my age than hers; she’s my friend too actually. Well, she’s more like an adopted niece to my mother. She’s one of my cousin’s friends) who is an Apple fan but likes tech-y stuff. I suppose that’s what started the motion, somewhat…

At that point, even though I actually had enough budget to actually get a MacBook, I wasn’t keen on learning something new on my last year in University, where I had 3 optional modules that really didn’t make must sense together in the first place. Admittedly, using a new laptop wld be a challange as well, but in the end I got another Dell anyway, so not that much difference. And I made sure I got an XP one instead of Vista, because I really am not interested in the flashy way Vista is. Maybe my not liking Vista is what is pushing me to Apple products. The irony; they wanted to make Windows more like Mac, and I ended up choosing the other. Hehehe.

Oh, how did the budget got anywhere near to being able to afford a MacBook? Because, apparently, the really really good PC notebooks are actually quite overpriced things, still with the much hated blue screen of death. And most of them had Vista as their OS so I ignored them. And the Toshibas… Goodness. The glossy cover. Blah. Imagine the scratches!! Would be so visible!!!

I mean, it’s not as if that Dell is a lousy brand. C’mon; I’m using it. I think it’s good!! Why I needed to change it was really my fault. Hehe. Forgot what I did already. Haha. Spilled curry on to it and such. Hahaha. I know; crazy right?

I think Dell laptops are appropriately priced. Just that the service…

Had to pay RM600. All due to my ignorance and not bothering to correct the thingy… I really don’t know how to explain, but basically now the screen of my laptop would fall if there’s nothing supporting it. The grip thingy broke yesterday. No, actually the day before. Yesterday I suffered through the heat of it; I used my comforter to support the screen. So, I suppose the heat got trapped.

Though, to be honest, I think my laptop has a life of its own. Seriously.

I think it’s pretty mad that I keep repeating how much I want a MacBook that it decided to go wanky on me again. Sigh. First your sibling, now you. My spacebar refuse to behave itself. I keep having to go back to separate the words again after I’ve typed it. Seriously, so annoying. However, since I got the full cover for hardware, I’m going to ask them to get me a new keyboard. I forgot about the space. How was I supposed to remember? I didn’t use the keyboard much the night before!!

Oh well… Will talk to the engineer when he gives me a call later. I can’t believe you’re making such a big fuss over this, lappie.

Oh, unlike my sheep, I didn’t get round naming my lappie even though it is pretty much my best friend. A very much abused one at that. Hahaha.

I don’t know… Probably because my horrid eyesight that the 17 inch MacBook Pro looks ridiculously attractive. Oh, I know now there are other 17 inch laptops, but I don’t know… I am “unconditionally and irrevocably in love with” the bloody notebook. Hahaha.

To the point that I said when I would finally get the notebook, the sensation would be similar, if not better, than orgasm. Hahahahaha.

Actually I was more descriptive than that, but let’s not go into that. 😛

Last week or the week before… My nick on MSN was “Nani wants a Mac. No; make it two.”

A dear friend of mine actually thought that I was referring to McDonald’s!! The fast food chain, let me specify that. Because I’m going to play around with that surname,  somewhat.

I hardly eat McDonald’s, especially since Berjaya Group took over the franchise in Malaysia. I boycott it due to the owner of Berjaya Group rather than their sending their profit to Israel.

Deal with things at home first before you go international, is what I believe.

Though you deal with economic problems first before political ones, I think.

I urge my fellow Malaysians to ignore the extremely childish political problems in Malaysia and worry more about the global economic crisis.

Oh, that reminds me, I do have something to talk about the economic crisis; somewhat. Just, not now.

So, being the wonderful friend I am… I thought, hey, why don’t I see the wikipedia list of people named McDonald/MacDonald/Macdonald… If I like any of them…

Apparently, there’s two; with my liking one after the other… Not at the same time. I got one to replaced the other.

Okay, I stopped “liking” (to use the word loosely; I’m not sure if it fits…) David Tennant (apparently his actual surname is McDonald) about the time Amni started liking him. Probably never actually liked him anyway. I got quite fed up of him quite early in my first year, wondering what the heck is the big deal with Doctor Who. I still don’t get it and doubt I’ll ever would, especially considering it’s science fiction. Only science fiction I could tolerate is Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy because it’s just so silly.

Only reason I actually started “liking” him was because the first episode I watched of  The Graham Norton Show was the one he and Jo Brand was in. And he’s Scottish; so obviously has a Scottish accent. One of my weaknesses. Could have started liking him if he was some fat old man. Actually, that would make him even more adorable. Hahaha.

Though, of course I’ve heard a much more adorable accent… from one of my tutors… Though I started wondering if she actually “created” the accent on her own…

Till I actually came across an interview of Amy Macdonald… where her accent is exactly like my tutor’s.

Hahahahaha.

Search for an interview of her; that accent was the one that made me skip to my seminars even though it was at 9 in the morning during the winter semester.

Heh heh.

Oh, though, unlike Tennant, I didn’t actually start liking Macdonald due to her accent. Searched for her songs first. And I absolutely love This is the Life.

I just started liking her more due to her adorable accent.

Hahaha.

And I would really want to carry her around in my pocket. Let her sing to me all the time. Hahaha. Would be great to just sit down and have a chat with her as well. About anything; so long as she talks more. Just so bloody adorable.

I got ridiculously giggly when I was in Edinburgh.

Give me Scottish accent over Irish anytime. Seriously.

Beda, you’re nuts preferring Irish over Scottish. Hahaha. 😛

Oh, and like Tennant, I “discovered” Amy Macdonald through clips of The Graham Norton Show.

Hahahaha.

Oh, and I also love Jo Brand. Just thought I should let you know. She’s just so bloody funnyyy!!!!!

Anyway, on MacBooks… I absolutely love the blog Stuff White People Like. Faliq showed me the website when he was saying how everyone seems to want to get a Mac. Ah well…

Still, it just tickledme to no end… The part where they were mocking Apple and Toyota Prius… That I have decided that I would want to drive a Toyota Prius with an Apple logo stucked on the rear of the car. 😉 Hahaha.

And I would try to be as whitebread-like as possible. 😀 Try to like as much as the stereotyped white people like, as shown on that website.

Hehehe.

But yeah, if you love folk-ish music… I strongly recommend listening to Amy Macdonald. I absolutely love her!! 😀

Oh, and I love Graham Norton. Hahaha. He’s just so bloody funny!!!!!!!!

Categories: Great big stuff
  1. missmidori
    February 27, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    I have a DELL. And I’m lovin’ it.

    And I loved it even more when I saw on Gossip Girl that Serena van der Woodsen has my red laptop too!

    Woo, so I’ve got Upper East Side taste! =P

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

