Home > Ever ever after > Binge

Binge

I feel like I’m binging on reading.

Have read 5 books since the past few days after I quit reading Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I would continue later. But I felt like I had Greeks oozing out of my ears.

I vowed, if any of the books I was reading had any hints of Greek, I would quit reading.

Just drove me insane. It was like the ancient Greeks with their dysfunctional deities was more sane than this 20th century American Greek family.

Seriously. Gahh.

Read Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella. Still think that Can You Keep A Secret as her best work. I find the Shopaholic series thoroughly annoying. Good think I didn’t actually purchase the book. And the Undomestic Goddess freaked me out; not the best book to read after a Law paper that you thought you would fail.

Finish reading the abridged version of Les Miserables. I want the full version!! Waaahhhh!!

Finally read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. Don’t know why I read the other books by him that I own before I finally read this. Amazing book. Highly recommended.

Read McCall Smith’s 44 Scotland Street. Still find Bruce annoying. Gosh. I still can’t believe he tried to nick his boss’s underwear. WTH? Oh, he forgot to wear pants underneath his kilt. Can’t remember why he wanted to wear underwear, but it is weird enough that he tried to nick someone’s underwear. Like… whaaaaaaaaaaaattt???

Also read Diana Wynne Jones’s House of Many Ways. Superb. I absolutely adore her. She’s brilliant!! 😀 And I love Howl. Hahaha. So weird; to like a character in a book. Hehe.

But I suppose not as weird to like someone because of their history (namely previous occupatient and where was born because I like the cheese the county produces. Yeah, the latter is so WTF. I’m still deciding if the said person who suggested this is my friend or not) but can’t stand the sight of him performing.

I have absolutely no idea how my mind works.

Am reading Ash Wednesday by Ethan Hawke. Yes, the actor. Got the book quite cheap, and quite a long time ago. Just haven’t found the time to read it. Only on the first chapter and somehow I find that it is as if he’s trying to write the JD Salinger wrote the Catcher in the Rye.

Hah!!

Very very unlikely, I’m thinking.

PS: Decided to start reading the Prestige by Christoper Priest instead. You know, the book which the movie staring Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale is based on. Don’t know if I’ll continue Ash Wednesday anytime soon… And I have no idea if I’ll read about the very dysfunctional (to me, at least) Stephanides family any time soon as well…

Categories: Ever ever after
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

