Home > Honk! If you're Malaysian, Narcissistic > Translation of tweets

Translation of tweets

September 9, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I decided to tweet in Malay for two days.

Started because of something so stupid as wondering whether to shower/bath or go to sleep immediately. It was 10am (yeah, tell me about it; my clock is insane), but I just showered about 9 hours earlier. Still, somehow I felt that I should, but I was dead sleepy.

Wondered if I should… wanted to tweet Dee, since she’s the “expert” on showering before sleeping…

Then *someone* tweeted about going to swim.

It is very unlikely that this *someone* would ever follow me anyway… but I felt that I should make sure it wasn’t obvious that I was tweeting something because of his tweet.

I don’t know why… maybe because “his people” don’t really shower everyday??? *shrugs*

And then after that I decided to tweet in Malay. Hahaha.

Amongst the people that follow me… Like I care about those strangers anyway–why do they follow weird people anyway?–only the girl who is the expert of showering late at night will be the one that wouldn’t understand what I say; or the gist of it. And I won’t be giving a direct translation, because there are some words where I doubt they really have a definition. Hahaha. Like sengal. Could anyone translate it anyway? You just know the meaning, yeah? Oh well.

So, Dee, for you (and because I have absolutely no life whatsoever; be grateful you have a thesis to write!!), I am translating my tweets of the last 3 days…

Cis. Orang British utara mandi. Terasa busuk sangat pasal tak mandi ni. Sial. Ye, walaupun tadi mandi pukul 2 pagi. Sengal sungguh.9:54 AM Sep 5th from webTranslation: Damn!! A northern British (Scottish; no Malay word after all…)  guy bathed [ok; not strictly…]. Feel smelly suddenly since I haven’t bathed. Damn! Yes, even though just now showered at 2 in the morning.

Tak pe la. Dia separuh Yunani. Nak jugak tido. Saya sungguh sengal, saya tahu. Best jugak berbahasa ye.9:56 AM Sep 5th from webTranslation: It’s alright. He’s half Greek. Going to sleep regardless. I am being (shit, I’m not sure how to translate this…) bimbotic, I know. It is fun using Malay, eh.

Bangun petang, gosok gigi, jangan mandi, pegi masak, buka puasa, cuci pinggan, naik balik, main flash games…6:44 PM Sep 5th from webIt is basically  based on a poem/nursery rhyme we used to sing when we were in kindergarten or something… Goes like, “Bangun pagi, gosok gigi, cuci muka, terus mandi, pakai baju, minum susu, salam ayah dan ibu” which roughly translates to “wake up in the morning, brush your teeth, wash your face, straight away shower, wear clothes, drink milk, kiss your parents’ hands”. Mine is basically my day nowadays…
Translation: Wake up in the afternoon, brush teeth, don’t shower, go cook, break fast, wash the dishes, come back up (to my room), and play flash games.
I shower some time after playing the flash games; I can’t stand showering immediately after eating. Oh, and I wake up with barely enough time to cook before my mother arrives, which explains why I say don’t shower. Hahaha.

Bagus… bagus… Bertweet dalam bahasa, dan orang bangang2 tidak akan mahu ikut anda. Yess!!!6:57 PM Sep 5th from webTranslation: Good… Good… Tweet in Malay (direct translation for “bahasa” is actually “language”; of course one would be tweeting in a language, right? Oh well…), and idiots wouldn’t wanna follow you. Yesss!!!

Akan bertwitter dalam bahasa untuk beberapa hari. Tengok berapa lama boleh bertahan. Kamus dewan di sebelah saya ini. Hahaha.6:57 PM Sep 5th from webTranslation: Will be tweeting in Malay for a few days. Will see how long I would last. “Hall Dictionary” (direct translation; main dictionary in Malay) is next to me. Hahaha.

Sungaaaaiiiii!!!! Wahahaha9:29 PM Sep 5th from webSungai means river. I was getting excited over being able to add a river in my farm in Farm Town. Yes, I do not have a life; be grateful you’re writing your thesis.

Saya suka Tesco Value punya biskut Marie. Nipis; seperti makan biskut jejari teh kaya. Rindu akan biskut itu. Sayang Tesco tak mengimportnya11:59 PM Sep 5th from webTranslation: I like Tesco Value’s Marie biscuits (don’t ask me why we call them that). Thin (or at least thinner than the usual ones); like rich tea fingers. Miss those biscuits. Pity that Tesco are not importing them.

Begitu cemburu saya akan Yahya Lelakikereta-sorong, saya tertweet dalam bahasa Inggeris. Adoi. Tetapi kasutnya sungguh lawa. Aihh…1:47 AM Sep 6th from webTranslation: So jealous I was of John Barrowman (it was so ridiculously funny trying to translate his name. Wonder what would happen if it was some untranslateable name [it is what Malaysian textbooks love doing; translating people’s names. I don’t get why they do that; those are proper names!! Their parents thought long before they gave their sons/daughers those names!!) that I accidentally tweeted in English. Damn. But his shoes were gorgeous!! (He was wearing this OMG white stilettos. Sigh…)

Baru tersedar yang sepatutnya semasa di London patutnya cari kedai kek yang paling bagus. Hmmm…7:14 AM Sep 6th from web
Just realized that, supposedly, when I was in London, I was supposed to find the best bakery. Hmmm…

Tetapi sudah buat yang hangat2 tahi ayam masa di Edinburgh, dan sekadar melihat di Glasgow. Boleh la tu kot. Sayang; salah negara.7:15 AM Sep 6th from webBut I’ve done the half baked (it is a saying I used, just like half baked. Which basically translates to “heating up chicken’s shit. Haha) thing when I was in Edinburgh, and window shoped while in Glasgow. That’s not too bad. Pity; wrong country.

Tidak boleh berputus asa. Saya perlu lebih fasih berbahasa Melayu. Tidak termasuk loghat yg sungguh pelik itu yg bertukar mengikut geografi3:17 PM Sep 6th from webTranslation: Must not give up!! I must be more fluent in the Malay language. Not including the extremely weird accent/dialect that changes geographically (though it is somewhat partly true in English already; or was, at least).

Mengedit tatabahasa bahasa Inggeris dua prof yang kedua-duanya ada PhD. Bangga sungguh. Boleh letak di dalam CV ke?1:07 AM Sep 7th from webTranslation: Editing English grammar of two professors, both with PhD. So proud. Could I put it on my CV?

Langkah pertama: cari “track changes” di Microsoft Words 2007. Sungguh sial dan menyusahkan. Benci benci benci!!1:14 AM Sep 7th from webTranslation: First step: find “track changes” in Microsoft Words 2007. So ridiculous and troublesome. Hate hate hate!!

Kenapa ada bau wangi yang saya tidak kenal di bilik saya ini? Adakah ada pontianak di sini? Kenapa saya tidak nampak akan dia? Mahu halaunya7:01 AM Sep 7th from webTranslation: Why is there a fragrant smell that I can’t detect in my room? Is there a vampire here? Why can’t I see her? Want to shoo her.
Pontianak” are females… Well, if I’m not mistaken, all Malay vampires seem to be females. And to all you Twitards, no, I do not have an Edward Cullen in my room. Would be spooky if I did. How could anyone be flattered and fall in love with your crazy ass stalker who lusts for your blood???
Nonetheless, I have beings that seem to be lusting for my blood; mosquitos. Loads and loads of them. Since I stopped taking medication everyday, they seem to be attacking me so often. These past few days, it’s been so bad that I have to take anti-histamines!! Seriously!!!! Urgh!!

Hahaha. Perempuan gila background baru saya. Hahahahahahaha.7:11 AM Sep 7th from web
Translation: Hahaha. My new background is so feminine. Hahahahahahaha.
Though to translate it word for word but grammatically correct… “My background is crazy woman”. Okay, it can’t be grammatically correct… but what I used for “so feminine”… perempuan=woman/female/lady; gila=crazy. Hehehe.

Terjaga di siang hari dan tidak tahu apa mahu buat. Sedih gila hidup. Adoi…11:22 AM Sep 7th from web
Translation: Awake during the day and don’t know what to do. What a sad life. Sigh…

Walaupun baru dua hari bertwitter dalam BM, terasa macam dah sebulan. Mungkin kerana tiba2 rajin bertwitter kot12:48 PM Sep 7th from web
Translation: Even though only two days have I been twittering in Malay, it feels like it’s been a month. Maybe because I’ve been twittering a bit too much.

Saya suka kuiz makanan dipermainan kilatdimuka bukubertajukbandar restoran“. =D12:53 PM Sep 7th from web
Translation: I like the food quiz in the “flash game” on “facebook” titled “restaurant city”. =D
Hehehehe

Saya suka menterjemahkan benda, terutamanya nama. Sedarkah anda, bahawa “Yahya Lelakikereta-sorong” ialah John Barrowman? Hahaha.12:53 PM Sep 7th from webTranslation: I like translating things, especially names. Did you realize that “John Barrowman” is Yahya Lelakikereta-sorong”? Hahaha.
Okay, why John Barrowman is Yahya Lelakikereta-sorong:
John= Yahya; Barrow= kereta sorong; Man=lelaki. Could have used
jejaka, I suppose… And didn’t want it to be a direct translation… So I made it grammatically correct somewhat.

Dengan itu, saya ingin mengucapkan terima kasih kepada Iskandar Kapranos yang telah memberitahu pengikutnya di Twitter bahawa dia bermain air sampai keletihan semasa saya tengah memutuskan fikiran sama ada untuk mandi dan tidur untuk sedar bahawa Bahasa Melayu saya bukannya teruk sangat. Hahaha.

Funny how in the end I went to bed anyway, but came out more confident in my ability to speak Malay. Even though it was a struggle, it can be done.

And like my mother said, it is just as bad as when I was in school anyway. Surprising that I actually got an A2 for my SPM Malay.

And what an insincere thanks; not saying it in the language that the guy would understand. And I went and translate his first name (if I could translate the surname, believe me I would) regardless of my crusade in school of refusing to call Alexander the Great Iskandar Zulkarnain, which resulted to my teacher minusing my marks. Stupid education system. Hrmph!! Imagine if I wrote the name in Greek letters instead. Hah!! Of course, this is totally hypothetical since I had problems even figuring which formula is which for my maths and science subjects because I couldn’t differentiate certain letters. Confusing Ps and rhos… Ahh… And asking my physics teacher “why does their R (rho ρ) look like P, and their P(pi π) look like R? Such a pain in the arse student I was…

Why their Ds look like a triangle and their Gs look like upside down L?

Man, I miss being in school. Hahahahahahahaha.

No, I am not translating. Nina, you can do the honors. If you don’t know who I am talking about (WTH!! I gave such a big hint up there!!), you can check who I follow. Not difficult.

Following him feels like going to the exams, except without the consequence of failing because I choose not to study the topic I had a feeling will come out. Not gonna elaborate.

Ye, Amni, saya boleh baca fikiran “kawan baik” saya. Sungguh menakutkan.

  1. K
    October 4, 2009 at 8:41 am

    You must have been so bored, hahaha. Thank you for translating the tweets. They were amusing to read. Sorry for checking them a bit late. 🙂

    ——————–

    “salam ayah dan ibu” –> I notice how this wasn’t in your part of the tweet 😛

    Also, it seems you’ve been advancing in Farm Town, haha. Is that a Facebook game? I have been playing Country Story (on and off). Can’t create any rivers/streams, I think, but it’s cute! Am waiting to see if I can get a black sheep. So cute, man. Will name it Caiomhe Junior.

    “heating up chicken’s shit.” –> Alamak, haha. Which part is that? This “half-baked” in Malay might become useful in the future.

    Oh, the track changes in Microsoft Word is quite fun. When I had to write that report thing with lots of different people, the documents was so colourful. A pain to read, of course, but still pretty.

    Regarding your “crazy woman” background, I’m not sure whether I’m more curious as to why that means “feminine”, or why your background is “woman crazy” (going for direct translation here). Is it of a teenage boy lacking in sexual adventure and experiences?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

